Universal Acceptance Logo
Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology Logo
G20 India Logo

Become Universal Acceptance Ready

this image show step of how to become ua ready

Software and online services are universal acceptance ready when they are able to accept, validate, store, process and display all domains and email names.

This includes:
  • New top level domain names
  • Long top level domain names
  • IDN domain names
  • Mailbox names in Unicode

To make your systems UA ready, here are some steps you can take :

  1. Validate input : Ensure that your system validates and processes all valid domain names, email addresses, and other internet identifiers. This involves verifying the syntax and structure of these identifiers, and also checking if they are in a valid format or not.
  2. Support Unicode: Unicode is a universal character encoding standard that can represent almost all scripts and languages in use today. Ensure that your system supports Unicode, so that it can process internet identifiers in any script or language.
  3. Use internationalized domain names (IDNs): IDNs are domain names that allow non-ASCII characters, such as Hindi, Bengali or Tamil characters, in the domain name itself. Ensure that your system supports IDNs, so that users can register domain names in their own language.
  4. Test with UA test cases: Use UA test cases to verify that your system can accept and process internet identifiers in all languages and scripts. There are several UA test suites available that can help you identify any issues or gaps in your system's UA readiness.
  5. Use best practices: Follow best practices for UA readiness, such as those outlined in the Internet Engineering Task Force's (IETF) Best Current Practice (BCP) 18 and BCP 47. These documents provide guidance on how to support internationalization in various aspects of internet technology.